Thursday, 9 June 2016

The Crystal Tour ~ Air Awakens Survival Guide (Part II)

Today marks the official beginning of the end!

It's the start of The Crystal Tour which will be highlighting each of the books in the Air Awakens series by Elise Kova in the countdown to the release of the final book in the series, Crystal Crowned

Can you believe it?! The final book! The last one! *gets teary-eyed*

Air Awakens is a YA fantasy series created by Elise Kova. There are currently four books that have been released (Air Awakens, Fire Falling, Earth’s End, and Water’s Wrath). The fifth and final book in the series, Crystal Crowned, is TBR July 12th 2016.

The focus for the tour from June 9th to June 16th is the first book in the series, Air Awakens.

My fellow book blogger (and one of the coolest bookworms ever!) Library Luv has joined me today in putting together some tips that we hope will get you through the ‘emoticoaster’ that is Elise Kova’s Air Awakens.

To view Part I of the survival guide over on Library Luv’s blog click here.

Read on for our Part II of our fangirling-filled survival guide and for an awesome giveaway...!

Welcome to Part II of The Air Awakens Survival Guide! 

When I first began reading the series, I immediately became emotionally invested in Elise Kova’s characters and their fates. 

It’s so easy to do - they’re so likeable, so raw, so unique. You want them to succeed so badly and to triumph over the forces of evil in their world. So when things go down (a.k.a cliffhangers, deaths, and tearful goodbyes) hits you right in the feels!

So here are my five tips that I hope will get you through the emotional highs and the lows that you’ll experience as a part of your Air Awakens journey:

If you can’t see the character, be the character!

Ever wanted to be your favourite character (and maybe even change their fate?!). Cosplay is the answer, my friend!

My favourite Air Awakens cosplay has to be Jenna’s (@vandorwolf) cosplay of Vhalla Yarl. It. Is. LIFE! It also could be the start of a revolution, where we all dress up as Vhalla and go out into the world to find ourselves an Aldrik… ;)

DIY Time

Now this is going to sound crazy, but hear me out...what about magic?!

In particular shrines and rituals! *cue the spooky sound effects*

It may have started out as a funny Twitter conversation between Library Luv and I, but the idea definitely has some merit. After all, if the characters in Elise Kova’s series can use magic to benefit themselves why can’t we?! (Answer: because we are magicless mortals).

Building a shrine to Elise Kova may be just the thing to help keep your favourite characters safe, happy, and alive. There is no actual scientific evidence that this method works...but it’s guaranteed to be tonnes of fun. Just grab your Air Awakens books and swag, light a candle, and send ‘please-protect-this-character’ vibes Elise’s way!

If shrines aren’t your style and you’re a diehard Aldrik fan (although I don’t know why I wrote ‘if’ because everyone and their grandma is a fan of Aldrik, no question!) then may I suggest a fire summoning ritual?

1.     Light a candle using a match (or use your fire powers if you’re super talented)
2.     Stare into the flame’s depths
3.     Picture Aldrik’s handsome face
4.     Start thinking of names for your future children together (my top choice so far is Dair)
5.     Doodle the words ‘Mrs Aldrik’ on a piece of paper
6.     Using the candle, set fire to that piece of paper
7.     Close your eyes and count to 3
8.     Open them
9.     Aldrik should be standing before you in all his fiery glory!*

*Booknut is not responsible for Aldrik deciding not to appear to you...or for your broken heart and dreams.

To The Books...And Beyond!

Don’t just remain content with Elise’s main Air Awakens more!

In particular read Elise’s bonus story Tales From The Front - available for free when you sign up for her mailing list (see details here). Although it’s bonus content for the series, it is recommended that you first read both Air Awakens and Fire Falling (the first two books in the series) as Tales From The Front includes events happening around Vhalla from just before the end of Fire Falling to just after the beginning of Earth’s End.

Bonus content is one of the best ways to help tide you over until you can get your hands on the next book...or to simply increase your love for the series in general!

Drink Away Your Sorrows

Library Luv, in her tips back in Part I, mentioned food (three cheers for ice cream bingeing!). And what better to accompany your Air Awakens feast than a few cups of calming tea?!

Elise Kova has actually come up with a ‘Drink Your Way Through Air Awakens’ tea list and I’m head over heels in love with it as a tea lover myself. Depending on which character you’re thinking of/fangirling over/weeping about, there’s a tea to suit your needs and to soothe your fangirl/fanboy heart.

My personal fave from Elise's list? Jax’s tea pick, Masala Chai - the perfect balance of sweet and spicy (just like Jax!).

Become a Deviant or Follow One!

If your dream of being an artist is overshadowed by your inability to draw anything more detailed than a stick figure, not to worry! Instead of making fanart, you can scroll through endless pages filled with artistic wonders that will fulfil your Air Awakens dreams.

Some of my favourite Air Awakens series fanart pieces are:

-   MerillizaART: She’s the artist behind the out of this world book cover art for the Air Awakens series! So if you get the chance, be sure to check out the full versions of your favourite covers from the series.
-   Throneof_shadows: Her photo manipulation entry for an Air Awakens fan art competition gave me so many feels. It also made me really long for an Air Awakens tv show or movie!
-   Amelia_art1919: Another Air Awakens fan art competition entry, this picture is so incredibly detailed and really shows off the artist’s talent. The scaly texture of the top made me want that outfit in my wardrobe so badly!

Those are my top 5 tips for surviving Elise Kova’s Air Awakens series! For more tips view Part I of the survival guide by Library Luv here.

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond...

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

Excited for the upcoming finale Crystal Crowned? Pre-order it today!

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. 

Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system.

She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she s not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. 

She is the author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the upcoming Loom Saga (Keymaster, 2017).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...